Union government announces winners of Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awards for 2015

first_imgThe union government has announced the awardees for Dronacharya, Dhyan Chand, and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar for the year 2015. The awardees will receive the awards from the President Pranab Mukherjee at Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2015.Let’s look at the significance of these awards and the awardees for the year 2015:Dronacharya Award:Presented by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, the Dronacharya Award is given for excellence in sports coaching. Instituted in the year 1985, the award comprises a bronze sculpture of Dronacharya, a parchment of honour and 300,000 Rupees in cash. The first winners of the Dronacharya award were O.M. Nambiar for Athletics, Om Prakash Bhardwaj for Boxing and Bhalchandra Bhaskar Bhagwat for Wrestling. Last year, the award winners were Jose Jacob for Rowing and N. Lingappa for Athletics.Dhyan Chand Award:The highest award for lifetime achievement in sports and games, the Dhyan Chand award is given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The award has been named after the legendary hockey player Dhyan Chand who is also known as the Wizard of Hockey. Initiated in the year 2002, the award comprises of cash prize of 500,000 Rupees, a tablet and a parchment of honour. The first honour was given to Aparna Ghosh for Basketball, Ashok Diwan for Hockey and Shahuraj Birajdar for Boxing. Last year, the award winners were Gurmail Singh for Hockey, K.P.Thakkar for Swimming-Diving and Zeeshan Ali for Tennis.Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar:To promote involvement of corporate and institutional boards in sports, the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was introduced in the year 2009. The award is given in four categories such as, identification and nurturing of young talent, encouragement of sports through Corporate Social Responsibility, employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures and sports for development. In 2014, the award was presented to Oil and Natural Gas Corporation for its contribution in the development and promotion of sports in the country. The award comprises of certificates and trophies.advertisementThe award winners of the Dronacharya Award 2015 are:Naval Singh – Athletics Para-sports coachAnoop Singh – Wrestling coachSwatantar Raj Singh – Boxing coachNihar Ameen – Swimming coachThe Dhyan Chand 2015 awardees are:Romeo James – HockeyShiv Prakash Mishra – TennisT.P.P. Nair – VolleyballThe Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2015 awardees are:Directorate General of Military Training (DGMT) – For nurturing young talent in sportsCoal India Limited (CIL) – For encouraging sportsHaryana State Police – For employing sportsSports Coaching Foundation  – For development of sports.last_img read more