Division 4 football glory for Portlaoise against Graiguecullen

first_img Previous articleManager Brennan heralds Laois fans as attentions turn to 2020Next articleWorld’s first plastic waste to wax plant opened in Portlaoise LaoisToday Reporter WhatsApp Division 4 football glory for Portlaoise against Graiguecullen Here are all of Wednesday’s Laois GAA results Home Sport GAA Division 4 football glory for Portlaoise against Graiguecullen SportGAAGaelic Football Facebook GAA Pinterest Colm Doran got the game’s first point for Graiguecullen but that would be the only time that they would lead.The sides did trade scores in the opening 20 minutes but Portlaoise got a run on Graiguecullen with points from Chris Lynch, Jack Fennell, Fearghal Fennell and David Finn to take a 0-10 to 0-4 lead at the break.Graiguecullen needed goals on the resumption of play to force their way back into the game and they were given the perfect opportunity when they were awarded a penalty.However, Portlaoise keeper John Hannify was equal to the task as he made a brilliant save from Peter Brannigan’s spit kick to keep him out.This spurred on Portlaoise and they finished the game with goals from Fennell and Moore to seal the win.Portlaoise now look towards the Junior ‘A’ championship, while Graiguecullen are out against O’Dempsey’s in the ‘C’ championship on Tuesday.SCORERS – PORTLAOISE: Fearghal Fennell 1-5 (0-1 free), Ian Moore 1-1, Jack Fennell 0-2, Thyge Ryan, Ben Conroy, Chris Lynch, Andrew Dowling, Jack Reddin, Liam McGovern, David Finn and Mikey Nerney 0-1 each GRAIGUECULLEN: Mark Doogue 0-3, Peter Branagan 0-2, Shane Aylward, Ian Bradley, Brian McDermott and Colm Doran 0-1 each.PORTLAOISE: John Hannify; Kevin Phelan, John Delaney, Brian Dunne; Eoin Rochford, Aidan McGovern, JP Seale; Chris Lynch, Mikey Nerney; Jack Reddin, Jack Fennell, Ben Conroy; Fearghal Fennell, Andrew Dowling, David Finn. Subs: Fintan Walsh, Liam McGovern, Kieran Drea, Niall Carey, Bryan Naughton, Ian Moore, Eoin Carey, Thyge Ryan, James Nerney, Gavin Fitzpatrick, Joey Delaney, Malachy McNulty, Brian GaynorGRAIGUECULLEN: Don Scully; Donal Hurley, Wayne Humphreys, Daithi Hurley; Kevin Smith, Liam O’Brien, Shane Aylward; Barry Regan, Ricky Lawler; Conor Hogan, Dale Byrne, Alan Byrne; Colm Doran, Peter Branagan, Mark Doogue. Subs: Brian McDermott, Ian Bradley, Conor Hayden, Stephen AlsyburyReferee: Eric Ward (Portarlington)SEE ALSO – Laois Ladies set to play All-Ireland championship match in O’Moore Park TAGSACFL Division 4Portlaoise RELATED ARTICLESMORE FROM AUTHOR By LaoisToday Reporter – 15th July 2019 center_img Twitter WhatsApp GAA Kelly and Farrell lead the way as St Joseph’s claim 2020 U-15 glory Twitter GAA Portlaoise ACFL Division 4 winners Portlaoise 2-16 Graiguecullen 0-9ACFL Division 4 FinalPortlaoise had 13 points to spare over Graiguecullen in the Division 4 football final on Saturday evening in Timahoe.This was a battle between the third string teams in each club and it was the first of three adult league finals that Portlaoise will compete in this year.Second half goals from Fearghal Fennell and Ian Moore did the trick for Portlaoise but in truth they were well on top by that stage. Facebook Pinterest 2020 U-15 ‘B’ glory for Ballyroan-Abbey following six point win over Killeshinlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *