Pat Critchley, Ciara Byrne, Gillian Wheeler, Jack Dooley and Portlaoise Panthers honoured at Basketball Ireland Annual Awards

first_img Pinterest Electric Picnic Electric Picnic TAGSBasketball IrelandCiara ByrneJack DooleyPat CritchleyPortlaoise Panthers Laois Councillor ‘amazed’ at Electric Picnic decision to apply for later date for 2021 festival Pat Critchley, Ciara Byrne, Jack Dooley, Gillian Wheeler and Portlaoise Panthers are tasting more success this morning.The Basketball Ireland Annual Awards and President’s Lifetime Achievement Awards for the 2019/20 season have been announced today.The awards will be presented at the Hall of Fame and Annual Awards ceremony, which is currently due to be held on Saturday, May 30, at Croke Park.Please note this date is subject to change depending on Covid-19.In the Women’s Division One, Edel Thornton of Trinity Meteors has been named the Player of the Year, Ciara Byrne of Portlaoise Panthers has secured the Young Player of the Year award.And Ciara will not just pick up one award at the ceremony – she will also win a second.She has been awarded the Schools U-19 Girls Player of the Year following a hugely successful year with Scoil Chríost Rí, Portlaoise.Teammate Gillian Wheeler also tasted success as she was named U18 Female Player of the Year.Elsewhere, Portlaoise Panthers has been named the Area Board Club of the Year as their incredible rise through the game receives the recognition it deserves.Meanwhile, The President’s Lifetime Achievement Awards were also revealed today with Pat Critchley, Frank Cashman and Ann Diffney announced as this year’s recipients.While finally, Jack Dooley has been named as women’s underage coach of the year.Well done to all!BASKETBALL IRELAND ANNUAL AWARDS AND PRESIDENT’S LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS WINNERS 2019/20:PRESIDENT’S LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARDSPat CritchleyFrank CashmanAnn DiffneyNATIONAL LEAGUEMen’s Super League:Player of the Year: Delaney Blaylock (Belfast Star)Young Player of the Year: CJ Fulton (Belfast Star)Coach of the Year: Adrian Fulton (Belfast Star)Women’s Super League:Player of the Year: Shrita Parker (Ambassador UCC Glanmire)Young Player of the Year: Rachel Huijsdens (DCU Mercy)Coach of the Year: Mark Ingle (DCU Mercy)Men’s Division One:Player of the Year: Andre Nation (Tradehouse Central Ballincollig)Young Player of the Year: Dylan Corkery (Tradehouse Central Ballincollig)Coach of the Year: Kieran O’Sullivan (Tradehouse Central Ballincollig)Women’s Division One:Player of the Year: Edel Thornton (Trinity Meteors)Young Player of the Year: Ciara Byrne (Portlaoise Panthers)Coach of the Year: Vinny O’Keeffe (Trinity Meteors)IWAIrish Wheelchair Basketball Men’s Player of the Year: Derek Hegarty (Rebel Wheelers)Irish Wheelchair Basketball Women’s Player of the Year: Jodie Waite (Limerick Scorpions)REFEREES:NRC Referee of the Year: Stuart Joyce (CCBOA)Most Improved NRC Referee: Rachel Dudley (SERA)National League Referee of the Year: Niamh CallaghanYoung National League Referee of the Year: Sara GuebailiTABLE OFFICIALS:Table Official of the Year: Norma ThompsonTable Official of the Year: Aoife QuinnNBCC COLLEGESDivision 1 Female Collegiate Player of the Year: Edel Thornton (TCD)Division 1 Male Collegiate Player of the Year: Marko Tomic (DBS)Division 2 Female Collegiate Player of the Year: Morgan O’Donnell (GCD)Division 2 Male Collegiate Player of the Year: Farouq Raheem (TUD City Centre)Division 3 Female Collegiate Player of the Year: Aisling McCann (RCSI)Division 3 Male Collegiate Player of the Year: Lisle Blackbourn (RCSI)POST PRIMARY SCHOOLS:Tom Collins Award: PJ ReidyGirls A School of the Year: Scoil Chríost Rí, Portlaoise (Laois)Boys A School of the Year: Mercy Mounthawk, Tralee (Kerry)Girls B School of the Year: St Colmcille’s CS, Knocklyon (Dublin)Boys B School of the Year: Cnoc Mhuire, Granard (Longford)Girls C School of the Year: Sacred Heart School, Drogheda (Louth)Boys C School of the Year: Skibbereen Community School (Cork)Girls D School of the Year: Ballybay Community College (Monaghan)Boys D School of the Year: Castleblayney College (Monaghan)Female U19 Schools Player of the Year: Ciara Byrne (Scoil Chríost Rí, Portlaoise)Male U19 Schools Player of the Year: CJ Fulton (St Malachy’s College, Belfast)Female U16 Schools Player of the Year: Tania Salvado McCormack (Pobalscoil Inbhear Scéine, Kenmare)Male U16 Schools Player of the Year: Anthony Ezeonu (St Joseph’s College, The Bish, Galway)Girls School Coach of the Year: Niamh Ni Chearra, Virginia College (Cavan)Boys Schools Coach of the Year: Sean Daly, Malahide Community School (Dublin)PRIMARY SCHOOLS MINI BASKETBALL:Primary School of the Year: St John’s, LimerickAppreciation Award: Joe Doheny, CarlowAREA BOARDS:Area Board Club of the Year: Portlaoise PanthersU18 Male Player of the Year: CJ Fulton (Belfast Star)U18 Female Player of the Year: Gillian Wheeler (Portlaoise Panthers)U20 Male Player of the Year: Paul Kelly (Moycullen)U20 Female Player of the Year: Debbie Ogayemi (Waterford Wildcats)UNDERAGE COACHES:Men’s Underage Coach of the Year: Keith Daly (Neptune BC)Women’s Underage Coach of the Year: Jack Dooley (Portlaoise Panthers)SEE ALSO – On The Frontline: Laois nurse on what it is like working in a COVID-19 ward during Coronavirus pandemic By Alan Hartnett – 9th April 2020 News Bizarre situation as Ben Brennan breaks up Fianna Fáil-Fine Gael arrangement to take Graiguecullen-Portarlington vice-chair role Twitter Home Sport Basketball Pat Critchley, Ciara Byrne, Gillian Wheeler, Jack Dooley and Portlaoise Panthers honoured… SportBasketball Pinterest WhatsApp Twitter RELATED ARTICLESMORE FROM AUTHOR Pat Critchley, Ciara Byrne, Gillian Wheeler, Jack Dooley and Portlaoise Panthers honoured at Basketball Ireland Annual Awards Previous articleJOB VACANCY: People First Credit Union seeking to hire Risk Management OfficerNext articleStudying during Coronavirus: Scoil Chriost Ri student on prepping for state exams in a pandemic Alan HartnettStradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016. WhatsApp Facebook Facebook Electric Picnic organisers release statement following confirmation of new festival datelast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *