No Virat Kohli in ICC Test Team of the Year, Anurag Thakur unimpressed

first_imgThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Anurag Thakur on Friday expressed his displeasure after India skipper Virat Kohli was left out of the ICC Test Team of the Year.Kohli, who has been in impressive form across all formats of the game, was not chosen in the 12-man team that was announced yesterday by the International Cricket Council (ICC).Meanwhile world No.1 bowler and all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin was the lone Indian to fit into the team. Ashwin also bagged the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year and ICC Cricketer of the Year awards.Ashwin became the third Indian after Rahul Dravid (2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and the 12th player overall to win the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named as the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016.Kohli, during the voting period from September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016, played eight Tests scoring 451 runs at 45.10 with the help of a century and a fifty. While it is evident that the players selected in the team had better stats than Kohli in terms of runs and average during the voting phase, BCCI chief Thakur said the players’ current form should be considered when naming such teams.”I think ICC must look at changing certain things. It could be from January to January so that current form can be considered as India is No.1 team and captain of No. 1 team is not considered they must look into these areas and I am sure they will look into it. But I am glad R Ashwin’s performances have been considered and he has got the award,” Thakur said. (Kohli named captain of Cricket Australia’s Test Team of 2016)advertisementHowever, the good news for the fans is that Kohli was named the captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year. The list also included Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja.Kohli has been in tremendous form this year scoring 2,595 runs in international cricket. He also aggregated a mammoth 973 runs, including a record four hundreds, in the Indian Premier League’s ninth edition earlier this year.Click here for India Today’s Test Team of the Yearlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *